#! navigate
current
archives
profile
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

#! stalk me
email
notes
guestbook

#! what you missed
i am retiring this blog - 2005-06-04
- - 2005-05-12
Home again - 2005-04-01
A appy ending - 2005-03-18
I am tired of tired - 2005-03-01

#! buddies
auroraline
jofetish
justmouse
love-me-more
silkenluck
vilks

Blogroll Me!

books I couldn't put down
amazonia by james rollins
acorna by anne mccaffrey and margaret ball
acorna's quest by anne mccaffrey and margaret ball
acorna's people by anne mccaffrey and elizabeth ann scarborough
the lonesome gods by louis l'amour


free hit counter
as long as life
written @ 5:39 p.m. on 2003-10-02

I had to put this in here while I still have time. I have spent the entire day doing anything in my power to read this book. I started it last night, and then picked it up again this morning, but just was not able to put it down for more then 10 minutes at a time.

It is: As Long As Life : The Memoirs of a Frontier Woman Doctor by Mary Canaga Rowland, M.D. (1873-1966), and edited by F.A. Loomis(her great, great nephew).

This book was really wonderful. It tells this wonderfull womans life story, and has added sections by the editor and other historians. It is a little jumbled, because it is not all in chronilogical order, but as you read you get a feel for why it is done this way and soon don't even notice the jumps in time.

There are many very technical terms(because it was written by a doctor), but there is also a small glossary at the end of the book, so you can keep up quite easily.

Anyways, I loved this book and reccommend it to anyone that loves reading history from some one who has lived it, or to anyone who is interested in watching a womens struggle to fit into a mens world in the late 1800's.

||