#! navigate
current
archives
profile
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

#! stalk me
email
notes
guestbook

#! what you missed
i am retiring this blog - 2005-06-04
- - 2005-05-12
Home again - 2005-04-01
A appy ending - 2005-03-18
I am tired of tired - 2005-03-01

#! buddies
auroraline
jofetish
justmouse
love-me-more
silkenluck
vilks

Blogroll Me!

books I couldn't put down
amazonia by james rollins
acorna by anne mccaffrey and margaret ball
acorna's quest by anne mccaffrey and margaret ball
acorna's people by anne mccaffrey and elizabeth ann scarborough
the lonesome gods by louis l'amour


free hit counter
Saturday 8-home reno
written @ 2:21 p.m. on 2003-08-30

Saturday 8

Trading Places, While You Were Out, Home Invaders, etc. etc. etc. You've seen or heard of these shows, where people get their rooms made over by friends or strangers, but what about you? This week's Saturday8 explores the "what if" you did . . .

1. What room (or rooms) would you be willing to have redone by someone else?

My basement or my bedroom unless I knew Vern for TP was doing it, then it would be any room he wanted. I love his decorating style.

2. Who would you trust to do it (an actual neighbor, a close friend who maybe isn't a neighbor, a stranger)?

I would trust most of my friends as long as they had someone who knew what they were doing guiding them. I may be okay with a stranger, but only if they did exactly what they were told to do.

3. Is there anything that you absolutely state could not be touched, or changed in any way?

The painting that is over my bed. It is my favorite belonging and would hate for something to ruin it.

4. What if they changed it anyway?

I would be very upset, but if I thought that I couldn't trust them to just take it down or move it I would then hide it before anything could hurt it.

5. What kind of themes, designs, motifs do you like (rustic, country, classy, jungle, sea side, etc)?

Nothing rustic or country. More color, but beautiful, timeless colors, and something moraccain inspired.

6. What kind of themes, designs, motifs do you hate (potterybarn, big fish on the wall, dogs playing poker)?

All of that stuff. I hate prints of paintings, I want orginal or nothing a lot of the time. A print would be fine if it was photography and I knew the person who took it, but not a painting. I hate things, you know, the dust collectors. Unless it holds a candle or a picture it is not allowed.

7. If you didn't want to do this, would you do it anyway just to be on tv?

Nope, I am trying to simplify my life not get famous for a few minutes, but I would want to do this, it saves money and me having to agonize over choices to make for months on end.

8. Lastly, after all is said and done, suppose you hated it. How would you react? Would you be angry with your friends who did it, would you smile politely and then change it yourself, leave it because it's still a change?

I would probably leave it for a while, who knows, it may grow on me, but if I still hated it I would redo it later.

Well that's it for this week. If you are re-designing, then have fun and remember to take before and after pictures. Hmm...now I'm thinking this place could use a little pick me up. Be well and see you next week.

||