#! navigate
current
archives
profile
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

#! stalk me
email
notes
guestbook

#! what you missed
i am retiring this blog - 2005-06-04
- - 2005-05-12
Home again - 2005-04-01
A appy ending - 2005-03-18
I am tired of tired - 2005-03-01

#! buddies
auroraline
jofetish
justmouse
love-me-more
silkenluck
vilks

Blogroll Me!

books I couldn't put down
amazonia by james rollins
acorna by anne mccaffrey and margaret ball
acorna's quest by anne mccaffrey and margaret ball
acorna's people by anne mccaffrey and elizabeth ann scarborough
the lonesome gods by louis l'amour


free hit counter
So we are not good enough to be your friend, eh?
written @ 11:30 p.m. on 2003-07-11

Peter got home tonight, ate suppeer after showering and then we went to Sylvia's so he could fix her vcr. There was nothing wrong with it, Mike had just hooked the cables up wrong. Good thing Mike is working out of town or he would have been miffed at Peter.

So after we got back I asked him to help me finish mowing the lawn. We were almost done when Kelly's kids along with Jackie's kids showed up at our house. No big deal, because we were all outside still. The kids stayed for a little while and played, but at 10:00 I sent them back to Jackie's. She and Kelly walked up the street and so met them half way to talk.

Now for those of you that don't know, Kelly is married to Peter's cousin. So we are family, but her husband, Jason, doesn't really have anything to do with us. He is a Push on his rig, Peter is only a Derrick Man. Jason is 10 years older then Peter. Jason's house is paid off, ours is no where near it.Jason likes sports to the point of obsession, Peter couldn't give a shit who wins the cup. You see the differences adding up.

Jackie's husband, Trevor, is also a Push, and Peters boss, and Jasons best friend. Jackie and Kelly are best friends. Kelly and us have always gotten along well. Their kids beg to come to our house, as do Jackie's. After living on the same block for 2 years Jackie will make small talk with me, but wouldn't go out of her way.

God has this gotten to be along story. Anyways as you can see there is a pecking order in this town. We are not really interested in it. We try to be nice to people until they really piss us off. We couldn't care less what rank you are on the ladder. Peter is about in the middle, but that doesn't stop us. But I guess those people up at the top, just don't have time, or even want to have the time to get to know people like us. We are truely not bad people to know.

So after I finish talking to J and K and help to clean up the yard Peter asks me why I bother being nice to Jackie. He knew the reason. I wouldn't mind being her friend, and our kids are friends. But I asked him why and he told me. This is what he said.

He asked Trevor if he wanted to come over with J and the kids for some drinks or something. Just to hang out and get to know each other. T actually says "WHY?" Can you believe it? So Peter tells him why and T says "What would be the point?" and then walks away. How full of oneself can some people be? I couldn't believe it. Of course this wouldn't change anything for me. I will still continue to be nice, I don't know if this is how J feels, but I can't help worrying that this is not the best way to bring up children. Will they one day have these same attitudes? It is not like they don't see that my friends parents don't visit at our house or vise versa.

Now this has been a long story about nothing much, but today T obviously made Peter feel like trash, and that pisses me off, and I had to get this off my chest.

WE ARE NOT BAD PEOPLE, WE DO NOT HAVE LICE, WE MAY BE YOUNGER THEM SOME, BUT WE ARE ALSO OLDER THEN OTHERS, WE ARE NOT TRYING TO STEAL YOUR SOULS, OR EVEN YOUR GOOD SILVER WARE, WE ARE JUST FRIENDLY PEOPLE, HOPING TO FIND MORE FRIENDLY PEOPLE ALONG THE WAY, WHAT IS SO WRONG WITH THAT???

||