#! navigate
current
archives
profile
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

#! stalk me
email
notes
guestbook

#! what you missed
i am retiring this blog - 2005-06-04
- - 2005-05-12
Home again - 2005-04-01
A appy ending - 2005-03-18
I am tired of tired - 2005-03-01

#! buddies
auroraline
jofetish
justmouse
love-me-more
silkenluck
vilks

Blogroll Me!

books I couldn't put down
amazonia by james rollins
acorna by anne mccaffrey and margaret ball
acorna's quest by anne mccaffrey and margaret ball
acorna's people by anne mccaffrey and elizabeth ann scarborough
the lonesome gods by louis l'amour


free hit counter
Saturday-8 :: Gratuitous Movie Styles
written @ 9:11 a.m. on 2003-10-18

Saturday-8 :: Gratuitous Movie Styles

Last night, at the suggestion of my husband, I went to see the Quentin Tarantino movie, "Kill Bill." While I appreciate Tarantino's directing style and enjoyed many different things that he did, it wound up being a few hours of "Texas Chainsaw Massacre" meets "Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon." I KNEW it was going to be bloody beforehand, so I am not complaining, but after the first hour the spurting-fountain blood paks really wore on me. Subsequently, I had some very interesting & violent nightmares when I went to sleep. So, today we are going to take a look at gratuitous styles in movies.

1. what is your favourite movie genre & why? (here are a few - comedy, drama, dramedy, action-adventure, sci-fi, war, horror, suspense, documentary, adult)

sci-fi or dramedy, I really like the escape from reality in sci-fi, but I like a funny story at the same time. I find plain comedies are just plain stupid, but dramedies have real humour.

2. what is your LEAST favourite movie genre and why?

war/horror. I don't dream, at least the normal way. I maybe wake up once every couple of months and remember a dream(that wasn't completely horrible). What I have are night terrors, Peter is constantly waking me up to stop the crying or screaming. These are the dreams I remember every moring when I get up, and the last thing I need is to watch a movie that will make me have more or worse ones then usual(and yes that is what happens).

3. what movie have you seen with the most gore/blood/violence, and did you enjoy the movie? why or why not?

I think it was called Dead Presidents, and if I have the name right, no I didn't enjoy it in the slightest. My brother Jason(when he lived with us a few years ago) would watch it once a week, and ever since I have had flash backs to scenes when I hear a line or something that reminds me of the movie.

4. what movie have you seen (non-adult) with the most gratuitous sexual scenes, and did you enjoy the movie? why or why not?

Kama Sutra. Yes I loved it. It was filmed in India and is just like any other action/comedy/suspense/drama movie. It is not an adult movie, but when there are sex scenes they are pretty good. We liked it enough to add it to our collection. I don't watch it very often because it usually makes me cry in the end.

5. what movie ... in any genre ... have you seen that you felt "tried to hard" - tried to hard to be scary, gory, funny, sexy, romantic, funky directorial techniques, etc.?

All of the Austin Powers. I haven't sat and watched a full one yet, nor will I ever. I think they are pathetic.

6. you read above that i had a few nightmares last night after watching "kill bill." do you dream vivdly after seeing movies? if so, which kind of flick seems to affect your sleep?

Oops, I think I already answered this one.

7. "kill bill" is broken up into parts, similar to the "lord of the rings" trilogy, and the second part will be released at the end of next february. however, "kill bill" was an idea by uma thurman & quentin tarantino, and not a piece of literature like the "lord of the rings." due to the fact that "kill bill" could have easily been pared down into a single-release film, how do you feel about seeing a movie in two parts like that? does it make you want to see both theatrical releases or just wait to purchase both on DVD release? why or why not?

While Peter is more then happy to go see them in theater, I am not. I have waited to see Matrix 2, and will be watching it tonight on DVD after having seen 1 a couple of days ago. The same goes for Charlie's angels, X-Men .... unlike Peter, the big screen and added expense can just be a big pain in the ass, when I know he is going to buy it anyways. His dvd collection has grown to(wait I am going to count)296(plus a few empty spots, so Marion must have some in her room or Peter has lent some out).

8. i have not heard any oscar buzz for "kill bill" yet. do you think that movies with gratuitous sex/violence/horror/etc. should be nominated for the award of 'best picture,' like 'gladiator'? why or why not?

I couldn't care less. Personally I thought Gladiator had its fair share of gore, and could think of many other smaller budget movies that were more deserving of a win.

thanks for playing! see you next week!

||