#! navigate
current
archives
profile
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

#! stalk me
email
notes
guestbook

#! what you missed
i am retiring this blog - 2005-06-04
- - 2005-05-12
Home again - 2005-04-01
A appy ending - 2005-03-18
I am tired of tired - 2005-03-01

#! buddies
auroraline
jofetish
justmouse
love-me-more
silkenluck
vilks

Blogroll Me!

books I couldn't put down
amazonia by james rollins
acorna by anne mccaffrey and margaret ball
acorna's quest by anne mccaffrey and margaret ball
acorna's people by anne mccaffrey and elizabeth ann scarborough
the lonesome gods by louis l'amour


free hit counter
when is a present not really a present?
written @ 7:17 a.m. on 2003-07-14

I was wondering if a person was to say, lets see, um, no presents from an electronics store, would that really mean no presents form an electronics store?

Peter and I have this long standing agreement that I am not to recieve electronic type gifts on my birthday, anniversary, or valentines. Truely I would rather get nothing at all. I would love for him to get me something from the heart instead. You know the kind of gift you have to put some thought into. The kind that shows how much you are loved and appreciated. I always put a lot of time and effort in to these gifts.

I always try to find something unique to the person, and the fact that I can't spend a lot of money makes it more challenging and usually more appreciated in the end. Many of my gifts are homemade, but always useful. I scour over ebay for hours looking for something perfect.

Just once I would like Peter to go to the same trouble. He had almost a month off of work until last week. He had plenty of time to do these things. He had plenty of time to sit down with Sydney and make me a card and something else that I would love from her. This is something else that I always do.

But instead I woke up this morning to a present on the table with a nice card, that I did really like and a video game. I haven't played any games in forever. The last one that he gave me (The Sims) has sat in Trevors room for months, completely unmissed. In the end, though he denies it, I feel like it was something that he wanted, but couldn't justify spending the money. So he bought it anyways and just called it a gift.

I know that there are plenty of people that get nothing at all, and should be greatful, but I do not live in one of those types of families. And this is my personal diary so I can rant all I want, even if some might consider it unfounded. Now I should go, I have to start getting ready for work soon, and I have to finish wrapping Jennifer's birthday present.

||