#! navigate
current
archives
profile
surveys
my fans
design
diaryland

#! stalk me
email
notes
guestbook

#! what you missed
i am retiring this blog - 2005-06-04
- - 2005-05-12
Home again - 2005-04-01
A appy ending - 2005-03-18
I am tired of tired - 2005-03-01

#! buddies
auroraline
jofetish
justmouse
love-me-more
silkenluck
vilks

Blogroll Me!

books I couldn't put down
amazonia by james rollins
acorna by anne mccaffrey and margaret ball
acorna's quest by anne mccaffrey and margaret ball
acorna's people by anne mccaffrey and elizabeth ann scarborough
the lonesome gods by louis l'amour


free hit counter
I'm not broken, so don't try to fix me.
written @ 7:45 a.m. on 2003-06-08

I have been thinking about religion lately. We had a psycic in the store for Keyano Days, and many of my friends were going to see her. They were bugging me to go also, but even if I had the $60, I probably wouldn't have. I saw one oncw, and truthfully I didn't feel all that great about it. The only reason I did was because I was desperate to find my little brother when he was missing.

You see where I live almost everyone goes to a church. We have a small town with 4 churches, and 2 others not too far away. For some reason members from all but one feel the need to tell me my life would be so much better if I was to become a member.

I have a long past with religion. When I was 10 I started going to the United church at the end of my street. At 12 I was teaching sunday school. At 13 I started to go to a church youth group for the gospel church, and soon after started attending service there, taking bible school, and teaching. My friends mom would take us to the Roman Catholic church, if I was staying the night before. But then she started studing with the Jehovah's Wittnesses. So I started going too. I studied for 4 years with them, and was about to be baptized when I met Peter and for some reason put it off. Next thing I knew I was told to choose: him or them, so I did. Later after Peter and I got married we started going to the neighbourhood church in the city and stayed there for 3 years, until we moved to Swan Hills. I always knew that being a Mormon was not for me(you can't drink coffee or diet Pepsi) my dad was born one and got out as soon as he could.

There are parts of most of these religions that really bother me, and parts that really make sense. I have read the bible in different versions many times and so I have a pretty good handle on what going on. I even have read the word for word hebrew translation.

some things that bug me:

Witnesses can drink, but not smoke(many people don't know that.

Most churches have crosses in their churches, although most agree that Jesus died on a stake, not a cross.

Some pray to the "virgin" Mary, but she wasn't a virgin, she had 7 other children after Jesus.

There are many other things, but the point is how do you chosoe when no 1 seems to make complete sense. Why should I even have to choose. It's just that I feel like I have been searching out there that doesn't exist.

I wish the people around me would read their bibles, see the discrepencies, and evaluate their own lives instead of mine.

||